The Eighteen Municipal Protected Areas of Santa Cruz, Bolivia

by Santa Cruz Crece Verde

There are eighteen protected areas managed at the municipal level in Bolivia's largest state (or department) of Santa Cruz.

These areas have been identified and acknowledged as ecologically outstanding by the municipal governments of Santa Cruz. They are declared a municipal interest and created by means of a municipal ordinance or a similar order. They are validated as part of the State System of Protected Areas and the Autonomous State Government of Santa Cruz, by way of the DIAP (Dirección de Áreas Protegidas, or Protected Areas Management Office) that promotes and strengthens the municipalities so they will be able to manage and conserve these areas. Click here to see detailed maps and photos of ten municipal protected areas of Santa Cruz, Bolivia.

EcoTourism   Tourism   Santa Cruz

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Santa Cruz Grows Green.