The Seven Protected Areas of Santa Cruz, Bolivia


There are seven areas that are being protected for conservation at the state level in the vast Department of Santa Cruz, Bolivia.

These areas are considered of importance at the state (departmental) level and are created by means of a State Government ordinance which must be backed and justified by technical and scientific research. These protected areas are a part of the SDAP (Sistema Departamental de Áreas Protegidas, or Departmental (State) System of Protected Areas). They are managed by the DIAP (Dirección de Áreas Protegidas, or Protected Areas Management Office) in coordination with the Municipal Governments of the areas in which they are located. Click here to see detailed maps and photos of all seven protected areas of Santa Cruz, Bolivia.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Environment.